Rawson Mountains, Antartica

Latitude: 8643S

Longitude: 15440W

A crescent-shaped range of tabular, ice-covered mountains including Fuller Dome, Mount Wyatt and Mount Verlautz, standing SE of Nilsen Plateau and extending SE for 18 mi to the W side of Scott Glacier. Discovered in December 1934 by the ByrdAE geological party under Quin Blackburn, and named by Byrd for Frederick H. Rawson, American banker and contributor to the Byrd Antarctic Expeditions of 1928-30 and 1933-35.

Variant Name: Frederick H. Rawson Mountains

From the United States Geological Survey GNIS